Hem / Press release / Nyhetsarkiv / Stureby, Team X-Calibur win the men´s and women´s National Team Championships

Stureby, Team X-Calibur win the men´s and women´s National Team Championships

Stureby Bowling Club from Stockholm and Team X-Calibur from Gothenburg captured the men's and women's title in the Swedish 8-player team league finals at Bowling Arena in Jönköping.

In the men's title match, underdog Stureby defeated number 1 seed Team Pergamon from Gothenburg, while Team X-Calibur topped Scandinavia BC from Malmoe in the women's final.

The Swedish Team Championship is an 8-player team league. Each team is divided into four doubles. Each of them bowls four games, one each against the four opposing doubles. The winning doubles team in each game receives one point. Four rounds of four games sums up to a total of 16 points. 

In addition, the total pinfall of all eight players in each round will add up and the winning team receives one extra point. With a total of 20 points at stake (16 plus 4), a team needs 11 points to win a match. 

Stureby Bowling Club was an unlikely champion entering the finals as the number 4 seed. However, during the finals Stureby, with national team members Dennis Eklund and Erik Andersin and Belgian star Gery Verbruggen, eliminated both Sundbyberg, with former 3-time World Champion Anders Öhman in the line up, and Kulladals BS led by reigning EMC Masters Champion Martin Paulsson.

The preliminary rounds were dominated by Team Pergamon. Their team featured Swedish top players such as Tomas Leandersson, Martin Larsen and Robert Andersson, as well as Finland's star Osku Palermaa and former PBA exempt player Tore Torgersen, both living in the Gothenburg area.
Team Pergamon won their first National Team Championships title in 2003; the star-studded team from Gothenburg was almost undefeatable winning seven straight championships with a 37-1 won-lost record. However, they failed to win both in 2010 and in 2011 and were hungry for success this time.

In the title match, Stureby stunned Pergamon when they went ahead with 9-1 in the first match. However, Pergamon rebounded with an impressive finish to attain a draw, 10-10.
When Pergamon rather easily won the second match, 15-5, they seemed to be in control, but Stureby recovered quickly and took the third match, 12-7.
To decide the championship a one-game fourth match was needed. Stureby took an early lead and never looked back. They held on to win it with 3-2 as the total pinfall determined the outcome, 1583-1482.

“We defeated a bunch of world class players. We are not so glamorous, but we are a team that loves to bowl,” said Tommy Wendel, who has played 30 years for Stureby and was one of the architects behind the upset.
Wendel and Dennis Eklund came up big in the deciding game when they shot 238 and 237 respectively. Eklund, Wendel and Gery Verbruggen finished the final in style and made the difference between the teams.

On the women's side, Team X-Calibur won its first national team title. X-Calibur featured four ladies who have been named to the Swedish national team in the European Women´s Championship in Tilburg next month, namely Nina Flack, Rebecka Larsen Jr, Joline Persson-Planefors and Elin Adolfsson. The team also included English national team player Nicki Ainge.
Team X-Calibur won the final in two straight games, 12-3 and 11-9.
Scandinavia BC defeated former champion Spader Dam (Queen of Spades) in the earlier round to set up the title match. Scandinavia´s team included three top Danish ladies, Mai Ginge Jensen, Anja Ginge Jensen and Britt Bröndsted. 

All results from the men´s final are available at http://bits.swebowl.se/Standings.aspx?DivisionId=300&SeasonId=2011&LeagueId=1&LevelId=1&CupGroup=201

All results from the women´s final are available at http://bits.swebowl.se/Standings.aspx?DivisionId=321&SeasonId=2011&LeagueId=2&LevelId=1&CupGroup=201